If a contact asks you to delete all the contact’s data, it is your obligation to GDPR- delete the contact in your system. Below, we will explain how to GDPR-delete and re-subscribe a contact.
GDPR-delete a contact
You may experience that a contact requests that you delete all the contact’s data in accordance with GDPR. In this case, you can delete a contact directly in MarketingPlatform.
Find the contact in the search bar at the top of the page. You will then see a list overview of all the lists to which the contact is subscribed. At the far right, you will find an icon of a trash bin. When you click on it, you will receive a notification asking you to decide on your next step.
Notification about GDPR deletion
By clicking on Delete, you agree to GDPR-delete a contact. You will no longer be able to see the history of the campaigns the contact received, opened, clicked on, etc.
Find and re-subscribe a GDPR-deleted contact
Once you have GDPR-deleted a contact, the contact will no longer appear in the lists to which the contact was subscribed. The only way you can see the deleted contact is by searching the contact in the search bar at the top of the page. Upon doing that, you will see the same lists to which the contact was subscribed, as you could see before. At the far right, you will see an icon indicating that the contact has been GDPR-deleted – and you will now have an option of clicking on “re-subscribe” button. Once you have clicked on the re-subscribe button, you need to confirm that you are re-subscribing the contact. After that, the contact will receive a new confirmation email, in which the contact needs to confirm the subscription, just like the first time when the contact subscribed to your newsletter. This is the only way to re-subscribe a GDPR-deleted contact. The contact cannot subscribe via, for example, your forms, but must contact you directly.
Confirm that you want to re-subscribe the contact
Read more about how MarketingPlatform complies with GDPR here